Showing posts with label book review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label book review. Show all posts

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Quilling Plumeria Blossoms Inspired by Quilled Flowers: A Garden of 35 Paper Projects

Quilled Flowers: A Garden of 35 paper projects by Alli Bartkowski is an inspiring, colourful book that will increase the passion for how fun and enjoyable quilling is and can be. This colourful book not only made me want to try all the projects in it, but also brought out how much I enjoy taking pictures and closely looking at the beautiful, unique flowers God has created. 

Saturday, April 5, 2014

Benefit from DK Book Sales and Win Smithsonian Institution's Natural History Book

This month DK is having two fun boutiques Best for Baby and Earthly Pleasures in honour of Earth Day 2014, which will happen on April 22nd this year. The Baby Boutique has a selection of titles that will answer many questions parents have in topics such as pregnancy and birth, newborns to toddlers, baby health, nutrition, and more. The books are 30% off for a limited time and perfect to give as gifts for parents since we all know as exciting as it is having a baby, it can be overwhelming and we all need some advice on unfamiliar topics. 

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Inspiring Crafting Books

Image of the cozies from Sewing for All Seasons book
Happy National Craft Month everyone :) I enjoy doing a variety of different crafts because it is fun and a good way to add personalized decor in our home or give as gifts. I also like learning new ones, and have been curious to do quilting and needle felting. I have done some projects that closely fall into quilting, but never did the full process of placing the batting etc. I checked out some inspiring needle crafting books 1 2 3 Quilt and Sewing for All Seasons, which has wonderful projects to get us started. I also got the Woolbuddies book to learn and try the hobby of needle felting. 

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Entertaining Sticker Books

DK books are hosting a special Buy 2 Get 1 Free Sticker Book boutique for the next few weeks inspired by the cabin fever that is taking place in family households across Canada this freezing cold winter. 

Monday, August 26, 2013

My Inspiration To Origami

The big book of things to make has a cool variety of things we can make, do and learn about. Although, I would love to be good at origami, I am not :). My uncle masters the art of origami and makes admirable things with origami paper. 

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Go Behind the Scenes with these Movie Maniacs DK Books

Every Disney fan, young or old will enjoy the Pixar: Character Encyclopedia. We are big fans of Disney Pixar movies so we enjoyed looking through this book and learning about more than 200 characters. We like that the characters are separated by the movies such as Toy Story 1, 2, 3, a bug’s life, Monsters Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Cars, Ratatouille, Wall. E, Up and Brave. 

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Stay Fit Cycling

My husband believes the most fun way to stay fit for him is cycling. He just wishes there is more good weather to do this often. We introduced our children to cycle with a tricycle first and now they are in the process of learning to ride a bike. This has become one of our favourite summer activities.
Riding a bike not only benefits our body, but also the environment as it is emission free. We should be walking/riding the bike to help our environment, whenever we can. Lets celebrate the World Environment Day on June 5th by doing something that will help the environment.

Monday, May 13, 2013

Digital books that children will enjoy learning from

On Beyond Bugs is an educational digital book about insects from The Cat in the Hat's Learning Library series. I recommend this fun, fact-filled app that will benefit our children.

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Fun to Read Digital Books for Children

Dr. Seuss's Short Story Collection has eight classic titles all in one digital book app. Each of these stories entertain in classic Seuss style and provides timeless moral lessons for readers young and old. 

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Step-by-Step Home Design and Decorating Ideas

design and decorate book
This book Step-by-Step home design and decorating give us lots of ideas to get our home functioning in the style we like. We can renovate our kitchen, bathroom, living room, bedroom, hallway, home office, laundry room and outside space within our budget by using the information from this book.
design and decorate book
The beautiful pictures and instructions will encourage us to take on a project and complete it. My husband and I enjoy doing our own DIY projects as it keeps the cost low and once the projects are completed it gives us a sense of achievement. We recently renovated our outdoor space, backsplash in the kitchen and redecorated our entertainment area. We are always looking for ways to upgrade and add character to our home by doing small renovations, so we will be using this book as a guide before starting projects.
design and decorate book
Usually when we do projects we come across problems we don’t know how to fix, which causes frustration so having a book to refer to will be helpful. This book gives us lots of details to help us when we are planning our projects. 
design and decorate book
The book has information about creating focal points with picture frames and placing them in the correct way so it would suit our furniture and room. We got this Big Red painting from Lowes that adds character to our living room.
I think this book is a must for everyone interested in doing DIY projects as it gives detailed explanations.

All rights reserved on photographs and written content Createwithmom © 2011 - 2013. Please Ask First

Friday, April 12, 2013

Knitted Rose

I made this knitted rose project by following the instructions on the Stitch-by-Stitch book written by Jane Bull. Although this book is recommended for children between the age of 5 and 8, even adults will enjoy learning from it. The book shows the projects beautifully with detailed zoomed pictures, so we can easily follow it. There are lots of cute projects in this book that are made with felt, wool and cloth.  

Tuesday, April 9, 2013

The Birds of North America that visited our garden

House Sparrow
Birds of North America is a complete photographic guide to every Bird species we will see in North America written by experts from Canada and US. We really enjoyed learning about birds from this jargon-free book.  This guide has close up, colourful photography that brings over 650 birds species to life. It is a wonderful reference book to people of all ages with all levels of experience. We liked learning about the social behaviours and nesting habits of the birds we encounter during different seasons. Learning and recognizing the different species of birds becomes easier with a colourful book like this.

Friday, April 5, 2013

Mystery of Life: Our survival depends on flowers

Before watching the Disneynature Wings of Life I thought the movie was about butterflies.  However, while watching the movie I realized it is called “Wings of life” because it outlines the importance of pollinators such as beetles, insects, bees, hummingbirds and bats that carry the pollen grains to other plants, so the plants can reproduce. I recommend this heartwarming movie for the whole family, as it points out the importance of flowers. This DVD and Blu-ray combo will be available on April 16th.

I also read the book Rainforest by Thomas Marent, which is filled with beautiful close-up photographs of the rare beauties found in the exciting, but dangerous tropical rainforests.  The pictures are amazing, which shows us the uniqueness and the beautiful details found in nature if we just stop to look at it.  

Sunday, March 24, 2013

We are planning to take lots of Gardening Shortcuts this Summer

garden
It is that time of the year when we start thinking of gardening projects and designing outdoors.  I totally look forward to spring, as I like to plan and think of all the possible projects we can do in the garden even before the ground thaws.  
gardening shortcuts book
Since we are planning on a trip this summer :) the time I have to garden this year is limited.  I want to make sure that we maximize the fun of gardening by spending as little time maintaining it.  This book Gardening Shortcuts has lots of ideas that will make this possible, and I am sure every gardener will appreciate the tips found in this book.  
garden shortcuts book
The suggested tips and ideas in this book lets us get the maximum benefit of enjoying our garden with less time maintaining it.

Last year, we gave a quick lift to a dull garden space by creating a flowerbed and adding rocks.  Seeing this idea in the book made me feel good that I had come up with this project last year.
garden
To make this flower bed we mounted a lot of soil because we wanted some height.  Then we planted a Japanese maple tree that we bought from Sheridan.  We chose the blood good variety of Japanese maple tree that doesn't grow too tall, and has bright red leaves.  
garden
Around the tree, we placed Pefferlaw deco stones and gravel river rocks that can be purchased in all these locations.  I like how rocks give a serene, natural atmosphere to the garden while helping control weeds in an eco-friendly way.  Usually adding rocks and hard elements to the garden brings the lush colours of plants and flowers to become more focused and attractive. 
garden
We also put a solar spotlight in this area that makes the plants glow at night.  To give the area more colour we planted different coloured pansies and marigold.  To make sure the area does not get a crowded and cluttered we always prune and remove the plants that spread.
gardening shortcuts book
This book gives a lot of ideas on how we can create privacy and sheltered spaces in the garden by adding fences and patio.  It also has lovely decorative projects that we can do without incurring a big cost.
gardening shortcuts book
This book also shows us neat ideas on how we can grow fruits and vegetables in a decorative manner.

All rights reserved on photographs and written content Createwithmom © 2011 - 2013. Please Ask First

Wednesday, March 20, 2013

It Is Officially Spring, Time To Spot Bugs and Butterflies

bee
Today is the official first day of spring, but the weather outside is nothing like spring.  Everyone in my family is missing the warm weather, the beautiful sunshine, flowers, birds and even the bugs.  
As an adult I am not a big fan of bugs, however when I was little it was a different story as my brothers and I use to collect flies and look for other types of bugs in our garden... thinking back I feel bad about this activity of ours as it wasn't cool for the bugs.  
My children are big fans of insects as well, and they are both in the age of exploring about them.  When they saw this book Spot the Bug by Tom Jackson they became very excited.  

Fun with siblings and Easter digital books for children

My children enjoyed reading these two funny, interactive books that are about spending time with siblings and egg hunting.

Friday, March 15, 2013

Good Housekeeping Zinio Magazine

We really enjoy reading magazines online through Zinio, as it is convenient.  When reading it on our mobile devices there is no clutter, this for me is the biggest benefit :)  Since my family and I read a variety of magazines it is nice to not be collecting a ton of paper magazines at home.

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Rapunzel's book of secrets and DisneyOnIce & Reading Book Drive

We are very excited that Disney On Ice presents Rockin’ EverAfter show during the March Break is nearing :)

This year for the first time Disney On Ice & Reading Book Drive will join hands to support the Children’s Book Bank, a charity that provides free books and literacy support to children in low-income Toronto neighbourhoods. 
The Book Drive will be held at Rogers Centre March 15th from 2pm-3pm. Families are invited to drop by Rogers Centre, 1 Blue Jays Way, at 2 pm with new children’s books (ages newborn to 12 years). 

The first 300 people to donate one book each will receive 1 ticket voucher (excluding VIP and rinkside seats)* to a Disney On Ice presents Rockin’ Ever After performance of their choice.  In addition, book donors will have a chance to meet Beauty & The Beasts’ princess Belle, and watch a live production number from Disney On Ice presents Rockin’ Ever After. 
The Rockin’ & Reading Book Drive schedule is as follows: 
1:30pm              Families line up for access to Rogers Centre outside Gate 7 
2pm -2:20pm      Book drop, Meet & Greet with Belle 
2:30pm -2:35pm Production number from the show
2:35pm-3:00pm  Book Drop continues 

*Once 300 vouchers have been distributed, fans will be able to purchase tickets at a special one-day discount, saving $5.00 per ticket! (excluding VIP and rinkside seats).
My daughter is a big fan of Rapunzel so I was glad that she was happy with this book Disney Tangled: Rapunzel's book of secrets.  It is a really cute journal type book girls will enjoy.  It has all the information and "secrets" about Rapunzel.  
This journal encourages girls to think about themselves, write down memories, dreams, desires and their secrets.  The diary comes with a heart shaped lock and two keys so all the secret stuff the girls write can be kept as "secrets".  My daughter enjoyed reading about her favourite princesses and she really enjoys filling the pages with all her little secrets and locking it up.  
This book also encourages children to write and read.  It makes a good gift for a princess as she can keep this diary with her treasures and read it when she gets older.  This book is available at bookstores, here and Amazon.

Here are some printable activities for your little ones, click on the images to enlarge.

All rights reserved on mentioned photographs and written content Createwithmom © 2011 - 2013. Please Ask First

Sunday, March 3, 2013

Hats Off to Dr. Seuss and March Digital books for little ones

Happy birthday to Dr. Seuss.

This week because of Dr. Seuss's birthday on March 2nd there are sales on Dr. Seuss digital books from March 1 to 7th on the App Store, Google Play, Amazon Appstore, Barnes and Noble NOOK Store and Windows Store.  
Here are some reviews of wonderful Dr. Seuss books that both children and adults will enjoy reading.



Other Digital books that will benefit children are from the popular Berenstain Bears and Little Critter series.  Check out these three terrific new interactive book apps available.
The Berenstain Bears and the Trouble with Chores (iOS and Android, intro price of $2.99) - Papa Bear and the cubs always seem to find a reason not to do their chores. When Mama Bear decides to avoid doing her chores as well, the mess builds up ... and up ... and up!  I really enjoyed reading this book to my little ones and reminding them that everyone in the family needs to pitch in to do chores i.e. cleaning up.  Sometimes I feel just like the mama bear when the chores don't get done :) and when my children surprise me by pitching in and helping out, it makes my day.     
Just Me and My Puppy (iOS, intro price of 99 cents) - Little Critter is proud of the job he's doing taking care of his new puppy. The funny illustrations show that having a puppy is a lot of work and quite a handful! 
It was cute to read how he describes all the help his puppy did i.e being a guard dog and bringing the paper for Little Critter's dad. 
What a Bad Dream (iOS and Android, intro price of 99 cents) - Little Critter dreams that a magic potion turns him into a scary, disagreeable monster that no one wants to be around. Luckily for Little Critter, it's all just a bad dream.
The sound effects in all these stories are lots of fun to listen to while we read the stories to ourselves or read it on auto play.

All rights reserved on mentioned photographs and opinion of the written content Createwithmom © 2011 - 2013. Please Ask First

Monday, February 25, 2013

The Peaceable Forest: A Tale of Kindness to Animals


The Peaceable Forest is an ancient Indian Vedic tale about Kindness to Animals, written by Kosa Ely.  In this ancient parable from India was passed on to children through an oral tradition.  This story reminds children to be compassionate to all living creatures and respecting life.

In this story a forest-dwelling hunter learns that cruelty has consequences and that compassion has rewards.  When the hunter meets the wise man, Narada, "Do unto others as they would do unto you" takes on a very concrete meaning. The sage leads the hunter on an imagined journey in which the hunter becomes the hunted. When the hunter realizes his actions affect other living things, he has a change of heart and begins to live in peace with the animals he once pursued for fun and without reason.  My daughter said that her favourite part was in the end when the hunter becomes a good person and lived in a peaceful way.
Anna Johansson's richly detailed illustrations show the animal kingdom and enchanted forests with fine lines and luminous colors.  The Peaceable Forest is an inspiring picture book that illustrates flora and fauna native to India.  My children found this book to be colourful and fun to read.  The interesting pictures will attract young readers as they see the world in the perspective of the animals.  My son liked observing the pictures and asking questions regards to the characters' clothing and liked the picture of the hunter's stance when he was shooting the arrow.  
The beautiful and accessible message within The Peaceable Forest opens up conversations about kindness and nonviolence to all living things, which teaches children to respect life in all its forms.  After reading and looking through the book we can have meaningful conversations with our children about this philosophy.  

All rights reserved on photographs and opinion of the written content Createwithmom © 2011 - 2013. Please Ask First