Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Thursday, March 11, 2021

Novel, Poem and Practicing to Draw

drawing books
Finding inspiration from all around us isn't always easy. I am always grateful for anyone that inspires to see the beauty in little things, which sometimes gets lost between our everyday routines. This reminder to look beyond the surface of things was on a few books we looked at recently; poetry journal by Sabina Laura, the novel Misfit in love by S.K. Ali, and two drawing books from Step by Step Studio series.

Wednesday, February 24, 2021

Win this Inspiring Embroidery Book

embroidery design plant
I love embroidery work and enjoy doing them often, it is a satisfying and calming activity to do. Freshly Stitched Modern Embroidery for Absolute Beginners by Celeste Johnston is a colourful book that anyone who enjoys embroidery will find it fun to look through and get inspired to stitch the designs. This book combines my love for gardening and needlework, and I am sure it will inspire you too.  

Friday, December 11, 2020

Win a copy of Flavorbomb

createwithmom frittata
Flavorbomb: A Rogue Guide to Making Everything Taste Better is a cookbook with a singular goal: to help us become better cooks. Author Bob Blumer shares all the tips, tricks, hacks, and techniques he learned from hosting Food Network shows, breaking Guinness World Records, working with some of world’s best chefs, and crashing food stalls around the globe.

Wednesday, November 25, 2020

Entertaining Educational STEAM themed toys

smartlab tiny toys
These SmartLab tiny toys are fun and really cute, it would be adored by children over eight years, as they learn and experiment using the tiny tools that come with each themed kit.

Monday, October 12, 2020

Books that unravel the mysteries of the universe, oceans, and museums

unravelling the mysteries of the universe
Unravelling the mysteries of the universe has been a human fascination since the beginning of time. From recording observations of stars, planets, and celestial sights to space travel, and even ideas of living in Mars has crossed the human mind. This book is a beautiful way for us to learn about the things we've wondered by understanding the science behind the mysteries. 

Wednesday, September 9, 2020

Decorating our home with Mixtiles

mixtiles
Mixtiles are a perfect way to print memorable pictures to display it in any room of our homes. With the current situation in the world, we decided not to travel this year - not even to explore anywhere close to home. We spent a lot of time looking through pictures, talking about our memories, and picked a few pictures of memorable places from our travels to display in our office/craft room. 

Wednesday, September 2, 2020

Art, Space, Spies and Giveaway

DK space visual encyclopedia
We have been reading two DK's Visual Encyclopedias to gain knowledge about different types of Art and to ponder about Space. We have also been learning about the history of spies from Ultimate Spy. 

Thursday, August 27, 2020

Painting Rocks and Books that inspires us to draw

rock painting strawberry
We love books that simplify and teach us how to draw easily with techniques that anyone with any artistic skills can grasp and become good at. The Ten-Step Drawing Series are fabulous books we highly recommend, as these books are fun and have an approachable way of teaching how to draw for aspiring illustrators, doodlers, and art hobbyists. 

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Novels for teenagers and adults

destination wedding
We can't believe how quickly August is coming to an end. This summer, we got a chance to read a lot more novels. Here are a few of the titles we recommend...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky - Young Adult/ Adult
Destination Wedding - Adults
The Black Kids - Young Adult
The Last Dragon Rider An Adventure in Presadia - Children

Wednesday, July 8, 2020

National Geographic STEM kits and Giveaway

national geographic STEM kit educational
We have always chosen to entertain our children with STEAM toys that not only provide fun entertainment, but also teach a variety of different skills such as creativity and logical thinking. These toys related to the fields of science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics help children grow in educational and productive ways.

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

For the love of animals and Giveaway

animal antics book
We love watching different types of birds come to our garden. Over the years, we invested in adding features to attract birds and other pollinators from bird feeders, pond, water features, bee hotels, bird houses, and more. We find it exciting to observe the birds, and have been reading books such as DK Canada's fully updated 2nd edition Pocket Birds of Canada to identify the types of birds that visit our garden.

Friday, June 19, 2020

Garage door styles to spice up the look of a home

free stock image garage door
Every homeowner would want both the interior and the exterior of the home to not only be functional but also to look presentable. One factor that adds to the curb appeal of any home is the garage door! Choosing one that fits the whole look of the house would be great. According to Garage Door Repair Langley, problems with garage doors can easily be resolved, so we don't encounter repairs and look for people to do the job. 

Thursday, June 18, 2020

Learning about the wars of the past will teach us to be careful of our actions

dk books warfare
It is sad when parts of our history keeps repeating itself, it is as though humanity hasn't learned anything from its past actions. We know many people have sacrificed their lives for justice, and we are still seeing a world of injustice around us, it is probably because of peoples' ignorance. I think it is important for us, as parents, to teach ourselves and our children about past events, hoping they will be kind and not repeat the past that has led to many problems we face today. The consequences of colonization, slavery, greed for land and power from generations past are still haunting us in the injustices and wars we see happening all over the world. When humans haven't created life, they don't have the right to take it or judge it.  We can all do our part by learning, becoming more empathetic, and always remembering to treat others better than the way you want to be treated.

Tuesday, June 16, 2020

Rolling into summer with this 3 wheeled scooter

The Primo Foldable Scooter is a fantastic starter scooter for children ages 3+. This lightweight 3-wheel scooter has a patented push button folding system allowing us to put it into trolley mode, so it can be conveniently stored on coat racks or in the garage. This also makes it easy to take with us when we go to parks. This stylish, functional scooter is guaranteed to deliver a lot of fun. 

Thursday, May 21, 2020

Alfred DB2-B Touchscreen Smartlock

alfred db2-b touchscreen smartlock
We love using smart technology in our home because it provides comfort, convenience, and security. Over the years, we have connected different smart locks from a touch screen lock to a connected Smart lock. Recently, we connected the Alfred DB2-B Touchscreen with the optional Z-Wave accessory. We love how Alfred International Inc. has designed the smart lock to not only be smarter, but also to make it look sleek, modern, and futuristic.

Friday, May 8, 2020

All Natural Green Goo Products for home and body

all natural green goo products
In our family, we always lean towards natural products that are safe for us and the environment. Recently, we had an opportunity to try a few products from Green Goo, a women-owned family-operated small business based in Colorado that sells all-natural body care. We really like that they use time-honoured traditions and plant-based ingredients to create a line of products that are gentle, effective, cruelty-free, and sustainably sourced. Their products do not use petrochemicals, parabens, phthalates, or any other dangerous additives.

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Sicilian Food, Raw Food, Soups and Recipe for Classic Tomato Soup

dk books
During the past few weeks, I have taken time to look through cookbooks and get inspired to make a variety of food. We checked out three DK books - Raw Food, The Sicily Cookbook, and The Soup Book.

Friday, April 24, 2020

LEGO Harry Potter and LEGO Ninjago

DK LEGO harry potter
We enjoy LEGO books because they give background to LEGO stories and characters. This brings life to children's imagination, as they build and make their own version of the stories. LEGO Harry Potter Build Your Own Adventure and LEGO NINJAGO Choose Your Ninja Mission were recent books my son enjoyed reading, building, and recreating stories using his imagination.

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Inspiring Arts and Craft books and Easy Embroidery Hoop project


craft books
In March, we take a little extra time to do a few more crafts anticipating the warm weather. With the kids at home for Spring Break, there is more time to break away from our routine and try some hobbies we put off during our busy schedules. We have been trying a few ideas from Quarto Knows books Brain Lab for Kids, Stitch + String Lab for kids, Art lab for kids, Paint lab, and Calligraphy Kit.

Thursday, February 27, 2020

Importance of CO safety during winter with FirstAlert

firstalert carbon monoxide alarms
Thank you FirstAlert for sponsoring this post. Help ensure your home and family is protected with CO alarms!

Many of us have heard about the tragic carbon monoxide (CO) gas related deaths that happen, especially in winter. This poisonous gas is called the silent killer because it is an invisible, odourless, and tasteless deadly gas, which can be produced by any fuel-burning device. The only way to detect CO in a home is by installing a CO alarm.