Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

Books that spark creativity

We enjoy books that spark our creativity and inspire us to try different types of art. We checked out a few books that are good to have as reference or to give as gifts to creative friends and family. Some of the books we have been getting our inspiration from are... The Ultimate Fluid Pouring and Painting Project, LEGO Book of Bedtime Builds, The Art for Joy's Sake Journal, Patchwork Quilt Designs Colouring Book, and Draw Like an Artist series.

Sunday, November 3, 2019

Learning to appreciate what is around us and Giveaway

dk book ice
It is important we take the time to educate ourselves and teach our children about the beautiful things that surrounds us. When we forget to appreciate nature, things like Climate Change will not feel like a big deal. In recent years, we have seen major concern for climate change, but have we taken the time to reflect on how we can help reduce it?

These books from DK Canada such as Trees, Leaves, Flowers and Seeds; The Wonders of Nature; Manmade Wonders of the World; and Ice takes a closer look at the beauty of nature and man-made things around us.

Sunday, September 29, 2019

Go Back in Time with these DK Canada Books

dk canada books life stories series
We have been learning a lot of facts about influential people from the past that still impact our lives from a variety of DK books: The 100 women who made history, Explorers, and books from the DK Life Stories series. These books deliver the facts in a fun manner using colourful images to keep the readers engaged.

Saturday, September 14, 2019

End of Summer Reads

mosquitos
We have been reading the pioneering and groundbreaking work of the narrative nonfiction The Mosquito by Timothy C. Winegard that offers a dramatic new perspective on the history of humankind, showing how through millennia, the mosquito has been the single most powerful force in determining humanity's fate.

Sunday, September 1, 2019

The 2019 Mazda6 Experience

2019 Mazda6
We gave the all new 2019 Mazda6 a go recently and here are our thoughts. If you owned a Mazda6 from the past 5 years you wouldn't notice a drastic change in design. Instead, Mazda has added more power, tech, and subtle tweaks to the exterior design to keep this popular mid-sized family sedan in check with the competition.

Monday, August 12, 2019

The All New 2019 Mazda3 Experience

mazda3 2019
We recently got a chance to experience the all new 2019 Mazda3. Our test vehicle was the Machine Grey Metallic GT Sedan with the Premium package and i-ACTIV AWD. This model's design gives careful consideration for a true driver experience with vastly improved performance, features, and premium materials.

Tuesday, August 6, 2019

Meals in Windsor-Essex: Healthy Mama, Paramount Windsor, and Stacks

windsor paramount
While exploring a few attractions in Windsor-Essex, we stopped for lunch at Healthy Mamas, had dinner at Paramount Windsor, and brunch at Stacks. Here is the scoop on what is special about these foodie spots.

Sunday, July 14, 2019

Exploring Space, Stars and the Moon

ontario science centre space exhibit
In celebration of the 50th anniversary of the first human to step on the moon, the Ontario Science Centre and the Aga Khan Museum have must explore exhibits. During our recent visit to the Ontario Science Centre we explored the space themed exhibitions; Astronaut and Women in Space exhibits. We also learned from The Moon: A voyage through time exhibit at the Aga Khan museum 

Thursday, June 20, 2019

The Horse and His Boy at the Shaw Festival

the horse and his boy shaw festival
Going to the Shaw Festival in Niagara-on-the-lake would make a memorable weekend getaway or a day trip. Every year there is a show that is perfect for families with young children and teenagers. This year it is The Horse and His Boy based on C.S. Lewis's The Chronicles of Narnia. Last year, we watched the Magician's Nephew also based on the children's fantasy novel Narnia. My children have read the novels and watched a few of the movies, they were excited to see how the story would be acted on stage.

Monday, May 20, 2019

Spring Reads and Cookbook

There's Something about Sweetie by Sandhya Menon is a fun book to read about being happy about yourself and falling in love; it was like watching a movie. I like how the main character Sweetie stands up for herself without letting other people's perception of her body image take charge of how she felt about herself. Even when her mother was being over protective thinking being "fat" is a bad thing, Sweetie proved that she was healthy, happy, and was a good person. This book will be enjoyed by teens and adults. 

Saturday, May 18, 2019

Soaker Afternoons and Nerf Fights

Hasbro NERF Fortnite lineup and Super Soaker blasters
Playing with Nerf is super fun especially when we spend our warm summer afternoons in the backyard with the soakers getting each other drenched. We have been having fun with the new Nerf Fortnite lineup. The new Hasbro NERF Fortnite lineup and Super Soaker blasters are inspired by the blasters used in FORTNITE, as it replicates the look and colours of the rocket launcher from the popular video game. Fans can take action from their screens to their backyards and recreate Fortnite action.

Monday, May 6, 2019

Lemongrass House Handmade Spa Products that everyone will enjoy

lemongrass house spa products
Ever since we tried a few Lemongrass House products, we have been loving it because of their unique natural fragrances. Recently, we tried a few other products and love these as well. These handmade fresh products from Thailand do not use any type of artificial colour or preservatives, chemicals or parabens which makes it perfect for every skin type.  

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

DK's Big Ideas Simply Explained Series

DK Big ideas Simply Explained
The Big Ideas series from DK is available in a variety of topics such as religion, economics, psychology, philosophy, sociology, ecology and more. It explains hard to grasp ideas in simple ways with pictures, info-graphs, timelines, definitions, and creative typography. The format of the Big Ideas Simply Explained series is easy to navigate to learn about the different concepts on each of the topics. 

Sunday, January 20, 2019

Lemongrass House Handmade Spa Products and Giveaway

lemongrass house spa products
Lemongrass House spa products have been available in over 30 countries at top hotels and spas including Four Seasons resorts, Hilton hotels, Banyan Tree, and Le Meridien - now it is available for us to either purchase online or at over 50 stores in 17 countries so we can enjoy these handmade products from the comfort of our home. 

Friday, January 4, 2019

Interesting Reads

Design Your Next Chapter, Happy: The Journal
These are a few interesting books we enjoyed reading Design Your Next Chapter, Happy: The Journal, Rick Mercer Final Report, Saints and Misfits, Written in the Stars, and Thousand Splendid Suns. We also read a few inspiring Biographies in DK Life Stories.

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Inspiring Needlework and Art Kits

needlework and art kits
These inspiring art and needlework kits are fabulous to give as gifts to anyone you want. These will also make wonderful gifts to buy for yourself and do during the holidays. The kits come with everything you need to get started.

Friday, November 9, 2018

Beyblade Burst Evolution and Giveaway

Beyblade Burst Evolution
Disclosure: This post is in partnership with Hasbro Canada, products received for the purpose of reviewing. Please note that all opinions and thoughts expressed are my own. All rights reserved on photographs and written content Createwithmom © 2010 - 2018. Please Ask First 

Our children first started playing Beyblades about six years ago. Beyblades are a fun toy for anyone (recommended age is over eight). We enjoy watching the tops of the Beyblades competing with each other as we zip the launcher, and predict whose Beyblade will spin the longest. During the past few weeks, we have been having fun with the new Beyblade Burst Evolution toys from Hasbro. 

Sunday, October 28, 2018

Rekindling the love for painting and drawing

art books
We love books that rekindle our love for painting and drawing. We have checked out a few books that inspires both beginning and advanced artists. The techniques and tips mentioned in these books are a real inspiration to start drawing and painting with a variety of medium. 

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Keeping out the bugs with Thermacell

Thermacell bug repellent
We recently tested the new Thermacell range of non-spray bug repellents, which are now available in Canada. Thermacell products have come in handy for us this summer as we were able to repel pesky mosquitos within a 15x15 foot zone. We like this repellent because there is no messy lotions, odours, noise, DEET, or open flames involved and the products use the same ingredients that make chrysanthemum flowers deter insects. All Thermacell products have been approved by the EPA for safety and effectiveness. 

Friday, August 10, 2018

Bird Kingdom in Niagara Falls

bird kingdom niagara falls
Bird Kingdom is the largest free flying aviary in North America where guests can mingle with a variety of birds. Over the years, we have visited Bird Kingdom a couple of times with our children, and have enjoyed this indoor attraction in Niagara Falls, Ontario.