Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Thursday, May 21, 2020

Alfred DB2-B Touchscreen Smartlock

alfred db2-b touchscreen smartlock
We love using smart technology in our home because it provides comfort, convenience, and security. Over the years, we have connected different smart locks from a touch screen lock to a connected Smart lock. Recently, we connected the Alfred DB2-B Touchscreen with the optional Z-Wave accessory. We love how Alfred International Inc. has designed the smart lock to not only be smarter, but also to make it look sleek, modern, and futuristic.

Friday, May 8, 2020

All Natural Green Goo Products for home and body

all natural green goo products
In our family, we always lean towards natural products that are safe for us and the environment. Recently, we had an opportunity to try a few products from Green Goo, a women-owned family-operated small business based in Colorado that sells all-natural body care. We really like that they use time-honoured traditions and plant-based ingredients to create a line of products that are gentle, effective, cruelty-free, and sustainably sourced. Their products do not use petrochemicals, parabens, phthalates, or any other dangerous additives.

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Sicilian Food, Raw Food, Soups and Recipe for Classic Tomato Soup

dk books
During the past few weeks, I have taken time to look through cookbooks and get inspired to make a variety of food. We checked out three DK books - Raw Food, The Sicily Cookbook, and The Soup Book.

Friday, April 24, 2020

LEGO Harry Potter and LEGO Ninjago

DK LEGO harry potter
We enjoy LEGO books because they give background to LEGO stories and characters. This brings life to children's imagination, as they build and make their own version of the stories. LEGO Harry Potter Build Your Own Adventure and LEGO NINJAGO Choose Your Ninja Mission were recent books my son enjoyed reading, building, and recreating stories using his imagination.

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Inspiring Arts and Craft books and Easy Embroidery Hoop project


craft books
In March, we take a little extra time to do a few more crafts anticipating the warm weather. With the kids at home for Spring Break, there is more time to break away from our routine and try some hobbies we put off during our busy schedules. We have been trying a few ideas from Quarto Knows books Brain Lab for Kids, Stitch + String Lab for kids, Art lab for kids, Paint lab, and Calligraphy Kit.

Thursday, February 27, 2020

Importance of CO safety during winter with FirstAlert

firstalert carbon monoxide alarms
Thank you FirstAlert for sponsoring this post. Help ensure your home and family is protected with CO alarms!

Many of us have heard about the tragic carbon monoxide (CO) gas related deaths that happen, especially in winter. This poisonous gas is called the silent killer because it is an invisible, odourless, and tasteless deadly gas, which can be produced by any fuel-burning device. The only way to detect CO in a home is by installing a CO alarm.

Sunday, February 23, 2020

Learning the origins of board games, illusions, journey, and math

board games book
We love playing board games and have a few family favourites. As children, we have played lots of different board games from monopoly to mancala, and made sure to introduce our children to board games at a very young age. A few years ago, we made a wooden convertible storage cart just to keep our games. We believe most board games are a wonderful way to socialize and connect, and they have become part of our lifestyle. Over the past decade, we have documented a few board games on CreateWithMom. When we saw the Board Games in 100 Moves by Ian Livingstone, we were curious to discover different board games and their origins. 

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Brushstrokes Acrylic Painting

Brushstrokes Acrylic
Brushstrokes: Acrylic Effortless painting with minimal tools and materials by Angela Marie Moulton gives a unique introduction to acrylic painting. We did a few projects following the step-by-step instructions in this book, and love how the paintings turned out. This approach of using colourful bold strokes strategically felt relaxing and fun, and the paintings didn't take too long to do.

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Self Care and Learning from DK books

dk canada books readers
We have been reading a couple of Self Care books from DK Canada - Sleep and Trigger Points. These books have been useful to think of what we should change to better take care of ourselves. My children read a few interesting DK readers - The Story of Civil Rights, I'm an activist, Sports Legends, and Festivals and Celebrations that has lots of useful general knowledge.

Sunday, January 5, 2020

Fun Games and Entertainment

watercolour
We are always excited to try new games and do different hands on activities in our family. We love game nights, and recently have been playing Azul and Ticket to Ride London. We also spent time building with Flexo. A new calendar year comes with new resolutions to become more creative, so we have been practicing watercolour painting with Watercolour the Easy Way book and took the time to clean up, get organized, and even spiced up our phones by replacing our Pop Sockets with creative ones! We have also been reading the Four Seasons of Entertaining book that is filled with colourful photography, recipes, and ideas separated by each season. 

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Fun and Engaging Toys

stretchy sand
I like investing in toys and kits that not only engage my children, but also encourage their development. Just in time for the holidays, we checked out two new products from Basic Fun! - Cutetitos and Cutetitos Babitos and a couple of ooey-gooey fun kits and Globber scooter from Incredible Novelties.

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

Books that spark creativity

We enjoy books that spark our creativity and inspire us to try different types of art. We checked out a few books that are good to have as reference or to give as gifts to creative friends and family. Some of the books we have been getting our inspiration from are... The Ultimate Fluid Pouring and Painting Project, LEGO Book of Bedtime Builds, The Art for Joy's Sake Journal, Patchwork Quilt Designs Colouring Book, and Draw Like an Artist series.

Sunday, November 3, 2019

Learning to appreciate what is around us and Giveaway

dk book ice
It is important we take the time to educate ourselves and teach our children about the beautiful things that surrounds us. When we forget to appreciate nature, things like Climate Change will not feel like a big deal. In recent years, we have seen major concern for climate change, but have we taken the time to reflect on how we can help reduce it?

These books from DK Canada such as Trees, Leaves, Flowers and Seeds; The Wonders of Nature; Manmade Wonders of the World; and Ice takes a closer look at the beauty of nature and man-made things around us.

Sunday, September 29, 2019

Go Back in Time with these DK Canada Books

dk canada books life stories series
We have been learning a lot of facts about influential people from the past that still impact our lives from a variety of DK books: The 100 women who made history, Explorers, and books from the DK Life Stories series. These books deliver the facts in a fun manner using colourful images to keep the readers engaged.

Saturday, September 14, 2019

End of Summer Reads

mosquitos
We have been reading the pioneering and groundbreaking work of the narrative nonfiction The Mosquito by Timothy C. Winegard that offers a dramatic new perspective on the history of humankind, showing how through millennia, the mosquito has been the single most powerful force in determining humanity's fate.

Sunday, September 1, 2019

The 2019 Mazda6 Experience

2019 Mazda6
We gave the all new 2019 Mazda6 a go recently and here are our thoughts. If you owned a Mazda6 from the past 5 years you wouldn't notice a drastic change in design. Instead, Mazda has added more power, tech, and subtle tweaks to the exterior design to keep this popular mid-sized family sedan in check with the competition.

Monday, August 12, 2019

The All New 2019 Mazda3 Experience

mazda3 2019
We recently got a chance to experience the all new 2019 Mazda3. Our test vehicle was the Machine Grey Metallic GT Sedan with the Premium package and i-ACTIV AWD. This model's design gives careful consideration for a true driver experience with vastly improved performance, features, and premium materials.

Tuesday, August 6, 2019

Meals in Windsor-Essex: Healthy Mama, Paramount Windsor, and Stacks

windsor paramount
While exploring a few attractions in Windsor-Essex, we stopped for lunch at Healthy Mamas, had dinner at Paramount Windsor, and brunch at Stacks. Here is the scoop on what is special about these foodie spots.

Sunday, July 14, 2019

Exploring Space, Stars and the Moon

ontario science centre space exhibit
In celebration of the 50th anniversary of the first human to step on the moon, the Ontario Science Centre and the Aga Khan Museum have must explore exhibits. During our recent visit to the Ontario Science Centre we explored the space themed exhibitions; Astronaut and Women in Space exhibits. We also learned from The Moon: A voyage through time exhibit at the Aga Khan museum 

Thursday, June 20, 2019

The Horse and His Boy at the Shaw Festival

the horse and his boy shaw festival
Going to the Shaw Festival in Niagara-on-the-lake would make a memorable weekend getaway or a day trip. Every year there is a show that is perfect for families with young children and teenagers. This year it is The Horse and His Boy based on C.S. Lewis's The Chronicles of Narnia. Last year, we watched the Magician's Nephew also based on the children's fantasy novel Narnia. My children have read the novels and watched a few of the movies, they were excited to see how the story would be acted on stage.